Bookmark and Share

Annual National Conference

America and Global Megatrends

November 16-18
Washington, DC


WACA's 2016 National Conference will be held on November 16-18, at The Capital Hilton Hotel, located in the heart of Washington DC, and just two blocks from the White House and three Metro Rail stations, makes it the perfect hotel for exploring our Nation’s Capital. It is within walking distance of museums and memorials, theatres and art galleries, shopping, dining, and nightlife.

New this year! REGISTRATION REWARDS: For every five paid registrations from an individual Council community, WACA will provide free admission to a sixth individual designated by the Council CEO. 

Book your room at our special Group Rate now! 
Staying at The Capital Hilton We have secured a special group rate: 

  • Queen/King bed Deluxe Room: $279/night (Single/Double occupancy) plus tax
  • Queen/King/Double bed Executive Floor: $349/night (Single/Double Occupancy) plus tax 

Click here to reserve your room! 

Conference Agenda


Conference Speakers:

Keynote Speakers 

Ambassadors Luncheon Keynote
U.S. Secretary of Commerce

Ambassadors Luncheon Keynote

David Abney 
Chairman and CEO of UPS

Opening Dinner Keynote

Senator George J. Mitchell 
Former Special Envoy to the Middle East
Author of the forthcoming A Path to Peace

Leadership Day Keynote

Ambassador Barbara Stephenson
President, American Foreign Service Assn.


Carl Gershman
President, National Endowment for Democracy


Great Decisions: Luncheon Keynote

Evans Revere 
Senior Advisor, Albright Stonebridge Group











1918 Society:

Pentagon Briefing and Tour

Brian P. McKeon
Acting Under Secretary of Defense for Policy, U.S. Department of Defense

CIA Briefing and Tour 

H.E. Hunaina Al Mughairy 
Ambassador of the Sultanate of Oman

Think Tank Off-Site Visits

Atlantic Council
Global Risks 2035
Director, Strategic Foresight Initiative
Director, Project on International Order and Strategy

The Washington Institute for Near East Policy 
Syria: How to Bring Lasting Peace
Andrew J. Tabler
Martin J. Gross Fellow


Panel: Presidential Leadership and U.S. Foreign Policy

Evan Thomas 
Journalist, Historian, and Author of 
"Being Nixon: A Man Divided" 
Tom DeFrank 
Contributing Editor, National Journal
Author of "Write It When I'm Gone" 

Moderator: Talmage Boston
Attorney and Author of
"Cross-Examining History: A Lawyer Gets Answers From the Experts About Our Presidents" 

Michael Duffy 
Deputy Managing Editor, TIME

Capt. Bernard D. Cole, USN (Ret.)
Author and Professor, National War College
Jeremy R. Haft
CEO, SafeSource Trading
Dr. Seema Yasmin
Public Health Doctor, Journalist 

University of Texas 
  Dr. Angela E. Stent
Director, Center for Eurasian, Russian and East European Studies 
Georgetown University
  Dr. Omer Taspinar 
Professor, National War College
Adjunct Professor, Johns Hopkins SAIS
This conference is sponsored by:

  Image result for gambrinus company logo
WACA's 2015 National Conference Was held on November 11-13, titled Leading America: Foreign Policy Challenges and the 2016 Election. The Conference provided original and essential insights. Keynote speakers and relevant panel discussion - on the Middle East, great power rivals Russia and China, the global economy, energy, and transnational challenges from cyber to migration - framed the foreign policy agenda for candidates. Council programs in 2016 will be enriched by the policy conversations and networking that take place here. The Conference were held at The Fairfax at Embassy Row Hotel, in Washington, DC.


National Conference

2015 National Conference

2014 National Conference

2012 National Conference

2011 National Conference

2011 National Conference Leadership Seminars

2010 National Conference

2009 National Conference

2008 National Conference

2007 National Conference

Speaker Series

Cover to Cover

1918 Society

Hot Topics

Leadership Missions

Student/Teacher Education Programs

Log-in for WACA Leadership and Staff: Access the Discussion Board, Resource Materials, Available Authors, Event Calendar Administration, and post your recommended speakers.

1918 Society Members

Carlson & The Carlson Family Foundation

Carnegie Corporation of New York


The Claremont Group

The Coca-Cola Company

Council on International Educational Exchange (CIEE) 

Delegation of the European Union to the United States

Eden Hall Foundation


Foreign Policy Association

The Gambrinus Company

Global Ties U.S.

Goldman Sachs


The Holmes Organisation

Johnson + Sterling

Mr. Michael Phillip


Rational Middle Energy Series


Rosetta Stone


Sultan Qaboos Cultural Center  

Thomson Reuters

Tomassian, Throckmorton & Inouye LLP

Turkish Cultural Foundation


Van Andel Institute