Bookmark and Share

2012 National Conference Speakers

 Confirmed Speakers to Date

David Abney
Chief Operating Officer, UPS




Graham T. Allison 

Director, Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs, Harvard University 




Higher education reporter, Washington Post 






Peter Bergen

Director, National Security Studies Program, New America Foundation; CNN National Security Analyst  






Marcus Brauchli

Executive Editor of the Washington Post







Brandon Busteed

Executive Director, Gallup Education






Joseph Cirincione

President, Ploughshares Fund







Heidi Crebo-Rediker

Chief Economist, U.S. Department of State 






P.J. Crowley

Former Assistant Secretary of State for Public Affairs







Ambassador Paula J. Dobriansky
Chair, WACA National Board of Directors; Distinguished National Security Chair, U.S. Naval Academy; former U.S. Special Envoy to Northern Ireland







James Fallows

National Correspondent, The Atlantic






Chrystia Freeland

Editor, Thomson Reuters Digital, and author of the upcoming book, Plutocrats: The Rise of the New Global Super-Rich and the Fall of Everyone Else   




Marc Grossman 


Ambassador Marc Grossman 

U.S. Special Envoy for Afghanistan and Pakistan 





Stephen J. Hadley
Former National Security Advisor






Ambassador Said Jawad

Afghanistan's former Ambassador to the U.S.

CEO, Capitalize, LLC






Ambassador Robert M. Kimmitt

Senior International Counsel, WilmerHale; former U.S. Ambassador to Germany







Thomas Kleine-Brockhoff

Resident Fellow and Senior Director for Strategy, German Marshall Fund 







Brian Latell

Former CIA National Intelligence Officer for Latin America and author of Castro's Secrets: The CIA and Cuba's Intelligence Machine




Director, Institute for Middle East Studies, Elliot School of International Affairs, George Washington University; author of The Arab Uprising: The Unfinished Revolutions of the New Middle East



Daniel Markey

Senior Fellow for India, Pakistan, and South Asia, Council on Foreign Relations 





Singapore's Ambassador to the United States, Embassy of the Republic of Singapore 



Ambassador Cameron Munter

Former U.S. Ambassador to Pakistan, 2010-2012 






Terry Moran
Co-Anchor, ABC News Nightline



Danielle Pletka
Vice President for Foreign & Defense Policy Studies, American Enterprise Institute 






Daniel B. Poneman

Deputy Secretary of Energy





Chairman, Willet Advisors, LLC; Columnist, Financial Times; former Obama Administration "Car Czar"
Associate Professor of Sociology and DISC Assistant Director, Special Initiatives of Duke Islamic Studies Center, Duke University


Counselor, Washington Institute for Near East Policy; former U.S. Special Envoy to the Middle East



Ambassador J. Stapleton Roy

Director, Kissinger Institute on China and the United States, Woodrow Wilson Center for International Scholars; former U.S. Ambassador to China





David Sanger

Chief Washington Correspondent, The New York Times, and author of the best-seller Confront and Conceal: Obama's Secret Wars and Surprising Use of American Power



Executive Washington Editor, Wall Street Journal
Former Senior Adviser for Women's Empowerment to Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice; former Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director for Democracy, Human Rights, and International Operations at the National Security Council
Anwar Sadat Professor for Peace and Development at the University of Maryland, College Park; Nonresident Senior Fellow, Saban Center for Middle East Policy at the Brookings Institution


Ambassador João Vale de Almeida

Head of the Delegation of the European Union to the United States   







Congressman Chris Van Hollen (D-MD)
Ranking Member, House Budget Committee; Member, Joint Select Committee on Deficit Reduction






Frank Verrastro
Senior Vice President and Director, Energy and National Security Program, Center for Strategic and International Studies 



Innovation Education Fellow, Technology and Entrepreneurship Center at Harvard University; author of Creating Innovators: The Making of Young People Who Will Change The World



Senate Budget Committee, Select Committee on Intelligence, Joint Economic Committee






Daniel Yergin

Chairman, IHS CERA; Pulitzer Prize winning author of The Quest: Energy, Security, and the Remaking of the Modern World


National Conference

2015 National Conference

2014 National Conference

2012 National Conference

2011 National Conference

2011 National Conference Leadership Seminars

2010 National Conference

2009 National Conference

2008 National Conference

2007 National Conference

Speaker Series

Cover to Cover

Know Now


1918 Society

Leadership Missions

Hot Topics

Student/Teacher Education Programs

Academic WorldQuest 2017-2018

Log-in for WACA Leadership and Staff: Access the Discussion Board, Resource Materials, Available Authors, Event Calendar Administration, and post your recommended speakers.

1918 Society Members

Carlson & The Carlson Family Foundation

Carnegie Corporation of New York


The Claremont Group

The Coca-Cola Company

Council on International Educational Exchange (CIEE) 


Delegation of the European Union to the United States

Eden Hall Foundation


Foreign Policy Association

The Gambrinus Company

Global Ties U.S.

Goldman Sachs


The Holmes Organisation

Johnson + Sterling

Mr. Michael Phillip


Orbital ATK

Rational Middle Energy Series


Rosetta Stone


Sultan Qaboos Cultural Center  

Thomson Reuters

Tomassian, Throckmorton & Inouye LLP

Turkish Cultural Foundation